<3 Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies

pin

Screen shot 2013-02-14 at 1.56.11 AMI am part of a Valentine’s Day bake sale and was told to make brownies. I went on Pinterest to see if I could find a love themed recipe. I decided to make these heart shaped marbled red velvet cheesecake brownies.

(http://www.keyingredient.com/recipes/182705484/marbled-red-velvet-cheesecake-brownies/)

I am not the best baker but have always wanted to learn. The ingredients and directions are not complicated and I assumed they would be easy to make if I followed the recipe exactly. I had no trouble finding the ingredients at the grocery store, but had to go to Hobby Lobby for the heart shaped cookie cutter.

(When looking for where to get the cookie cutter I found this! http://cookiecaster.com/)

As soon as I got home I started baking.

 

& then

DSC02102The first layer of cake was not too promising. I think the best way to describe it is gross. DO NOT LICK THE SPOON. I felt much better after finishing the cheesecake layer (second layer). I moved on to what I thought we be the best part, adding the swirls.

 

 

 

 

 

DSC02126When trying to do this I was really disappointed that the brownie did not look as red as the picture. If I could have gone back, I would have set more red batter aside to spoon on top of the cheesecake layer. The 3/4 cup the recipe suggests to set aside is not enough to make the brownies the deep red the picture shows. Because there was just enough  of the first layer to cover the bottom of the pan, I would suggest making more of the first layer batter initially. After 30 minutes of baking, I took the pan out of the oven and let the brownie cool completely before using the cookie cutter. This is how they turned out!

 

 

 

DSC02128

 

Not so romantic but still cute:) They taste much different than I thought they would and are not my favorite. I think brownies are best kept chocolate!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “<3 Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies

Leave a comment